Healthy Nacho Salad

Hey guys!!

I was craving nachos this week and I decided to make these 🙂 They are 21 day fix and hammer and chisel approved. I will add the container amounts at the very bottom of the post.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

 

There are a few steps to making this so if you feel like you don’t need to do one of the steps just skip it :). Also, you can make this with as much or as little of every ingredient listed. It’s really up to you.

Ingredients:

Corn tortillas (as many as you want, I used 2)

1.5 lb lean ground beef (or ground turkey)

1 tomato

Shredded cheddar cheese (as much as you like or 21 day fix use the amount I listed below)

Lettuce

Avocado

Lime or lime juice

Tabasco sauce

The chips:

The first thing I made was the tortilla chips. It was super simple to make. First preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Get some corn tortillas and cut them with a pizza cutter or a knife. Spray a cookie sheet with olive oil and put the tortillas on it (I also sprayed the top of the tortillas). Bake it for 4-6 min on one side and then flipped them and let it bake for 4 or so more minutes.  You will be able to tell when they are ready, they will start getting golden. Make sure you pay attention so they don’t burn.

After they were done I put them in a big bowl, squeezed some lime juice on top as well as some sea salt and tossed it.

Ground beef and seasoning:

For the ground beef I decided to make the seasoning since it is a lot healthier. If you choose not to make your own you can buy the taco seasoning of your choice. I used to always buy the McCormick’s taco seasoning. You can click here and it will take you to the taco seasoning recipe I used.

If you are using a store bought seasoning just follow the instructions. If you decide to use the same one I used all I did was cook the ground beef. After that I drained any fat/water that was left.  Later I added the seasoning along with 1/2 cup of water and let it cook for a little longer on low.

The finished product:

The way I built mine was to first put the tortilla chips on my plate and sprinkle the cheese. After that I microwaved it for about 15-20 seconds so the cheese melted. I added the lettuce, beef, tomatoes and avocado in that order on top of the melted cheese.

Enjoy!

21 day fix and Hammer and Chisel plan: 

I used 2 baked corn tortillas ( 1 yellow)

1 red container for the ground beef

1 green for the lettuce (you can easily add more if you have extra for that day)

1/2 green of tomatoes

1/2 blue of cheese

1/2 blue of avocado

I hope you guys like it.

Renata.

Leave a Reply

